Drive‎ > ‎

Steps to Take When Collaborators Leave or no Longer Need Access to Drive Files

Transfer ownership of files to a group account

If you plan to leave the university or even just a project or team, transfer the ownership of Drive files to a group account or someone else in the project or team.
  1. Review all the files that you own. From the advanced search drop-down arrow, select Owned by Me. Refine the results by using the search box.
  2. Select the files needing ownership transfer.
  3. From the More menu, choose Share
  4. If the shared account or person is already listed, skip to step 6. Enter the shared account or person. Unselect "Notify People Via Email" if notification is not needed and click Share & Save
  5. With the files still selected, from the More menu, select Share Share again.
  6. From the drop-down menu next to the shared account or group, select is owner.
  7. Click Share & Save.
  8. Click Done. Google also has information on how to change ownership of Google documents.

Remove someone’s access to Google Drive files

If the files are in a shared folder, it is best to modify that folder's share settings and remove the person . To list all of the files shared with the person:
  1. Search with the parameter “to:uniqname of person”. 
  2. Select individual files. Or select all the files at once by checking the box next to the word “Title” at the top of the list. 
  3. From the More menu, choose Share > Share
  4. Remove the person from the list.
  5. Click Share & Save.
  6. Click Done.