Choose a Folder When You Copy a File in Drive

posted Aug 29, 2016, 12:02 PM by Amanda Hudeck

Previously, when you made a copy of an open Google Doc, Sheet, or Slide file, that copy would be automatically added to your root My Drive folder—instead of the original file’s folder. Now, when you make a copy on the web, you’ll be able to choose which destination folder the file is placed in. This should reduce confusion and make it easier to organize your Docs, Sheets, and Slides files.



Please note: This feature is only available when making copies from within individual Google Docs, Sheets, and Slides. When you create a copy of a document from the Google Drive folder view, it will automatically save the copied file in the currently open folder.


The Collaboration Services Team


Tip: Did you know? You can access stored files without the internet.

Learn more about Google at the Google Apps Learning Center


Comments