Data Ownership in M+Google and M+Box

posted Jan 8, 2016, 8:14 AM by Jennifer Mruk   [ updated Jan 8, 2016, 11:57 AM ]

Did you know that M+Box and M+Google Drive have different ways of handling data ownership and collaboration?


  • M+Box: Data ownership and collaboration settings are based upon who owns the folder in which the data is stored. The entire folder can be moved to another account if the owner changes departments or leaves the university.

  • M+Google: Ownership and the ability to set collaboration permissions is given to the creator of the file. To transfer ownership of files in M+Google, the file’s creator must transfer ownership of each individual file. If a file owner, who is part of a team, changes departments or leaves the university, ownership of the file should be transferred as part of the roll-off process.


If you use M+Box or M+Google for data developed with a university team or department, we recommend requesting a shared account for all work-related documents to ensure the material stays available to the team when individuals move on from the university. To learn more about shared accounts, see Shared Accounts and Shared M+Box Accounts.


If an employee is not able to help with re-assigning ownership of their content after their departure, please contact the User Advocate for assistance. You can also reach out with any questions or open a ticket by contacting the ITS Service Center.


Comments