New! Remove Members From Google Hangouts Group Chat

posted Aug 26, 2016, 10:11 AM by Amanda Hudeck

Group chats in Google Hangouts  are a great way to manage projects, plan events, and participate in other chat and collaboration tasks. Until now, if a person left your team or the university, they could only be removed from the group chat by voluntarily leaving. Now, anyone who is directly invited to a chat will be able to remove others from the group chat, withdrawing that person’s access to the chat history and notifying the current participants. In order to rejoin the chat the former member has to be invited back by somebody already in the group chat.


  1. Click the person icon in the menu bar of the group chat window.

  2. Click the X next to the people to remove.


The Collaboration Services Team


Tip: Did you know? You can let people know what you’re up to with a custom status in Google Hangouts.

Learn more about Google at the Google Apps Learning Center
Comments